The Serenity/Courage/Wisdom Mixtape

Here’s a short and fun interactive piece for your Friday afternoon, ready for the weekend state of mind.

You know that old chestnut: “God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference”?

Well for a long time I have been trying to come up with a soundtrack to accompany this saying, a way to pump myself up with serenity, courage, and wisdom.

I had started a playlist once in a notebook that is now buried in the wilds of my storage unit, so I’ve had to start from scratch. It’s actually harder than I thought it would be, as there is some overlap with my “Redemption Songs” list, which you can read about here.

Here’s what I have so far:

Serenity:

Let it Be – The Beatles

This Too Shall Pass – Ok Go

Hang On – Dr. Dog

Nothing to Worry About – Peter, Bjorn and John

Let Go – Frou Frou

Float On – Modest Mouse

Hold On – Alabama Shakes

Courage:

Blackbird – the Beatles

Uprising – Muse

Zero – Yeah Yeah Yeahs

Shake It Out – Florence + the Machine

I Won’t Back Down – Tom Petty

There Goes the Fear – Doves

Make Light – Passion Pit

Wisdom:

Rain – Bishop Allen

Nothing But Change Part II – Harlem Shakes

Heart of the Matter – India.Arie

Troubles Will Be Gone – The Tallest Man on Earth

Little Talks – Of Monsters and Men

Learning to Fly – Tom Petty

You Can’t Always Get What You Want – the Rolling Stones

So what do you think? Good or bad? Do you have any ideas? It’s so hard to think of things when you’re actually trying to. But I would love more suggestions. Happy weekend!

Categories: Fluff and Philosophical Nonsense | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The Serenity/Courage/Wisdom Mixtape

  1. Katie Camosy

    For Serenity, how about Jonathan Richman’s “Let Her Go Into the Darkness” http://youtu.be/ech2iOtlsaw

  2. EddieB

    Off topic but I was reading “Leaves of Grass” and came upon this. Could have been written by you.

    Shut not your doors to me proud libraries.
    For that which is lacking on all your well fill’d shelves,
    yet needed most I bring, forth from the war emerging,
    a book I have made,
    The words of my book are nothing,
    the drift of it everything.
    A book separate,
    not linked with the rest nor felt by the intellect.
    But you ye untold latencies
    will thrill to every page.

    Thought some Walt Whitman was something I could enjoy, ( I grew up 5 miles from his house in Camden. ) I was wrong. It could not hold my attention. But that one passage reminded me of my friend in England. SO keep thrilling us with your untold latencies. ( 19th century implications not 20th. ). 🙂

    EB

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

