What’s the Best Book You Read in 2012?

In 2012, I set a goal to read 50 books; I read 59, which was a full 30 more than I had read in 2011. I was thinking I should do a sort of year in review thing, but the problem is I probably only read 5 books published in 2012. Most of them were just pulled from my never-ending list of recommendations and impulse-buys from Strand. I have no comprehensive view of “The Year in Books.” Now that the real experts have released their top 10 lists of the best of 2012, I’m just adding to my to-read list exponentially.

 

I read a good mix of fiction and nonfiction – 32 to 27. My favorite book of the year was, surprisingly, The Road, by Cormac McCarthy. I hated the film of No Country for Old Men so much I assumed I would hate his books. I finished The Road in 2 days, put it down, and cried for 10 minutes. That is the test of an effective book, if it can move me to some sort of visceral response. It’s very rare.

 

This year I discovered David Foster Wallace and read three of his books. I’m grateful to still have so many to slog through, but I take it very personally that he committed suicide 4 years ago. How dare he deprive the world of his genius? And that’s the thing: he’s clearly brilliant, with a mind that can comprehend depths and worlds beyond my understanding, but when I read him I always feel a level of humanity and generosity. He seemed like the type of person I could argue with about silly things. I desperately wish I could have been his friend.  This is again, a rare find, a writer with such a personal voice that you can really identify with.

 

I continued my march through David Sedaris, and am down to one unread title. He best publish a new book soon. I found Bill Bryson, a funny travel writer whose voice is also unique. If you haven’t read Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood yet, I suggest you do, because Star Cursed, the next installment in the lives of the Cahill sisters comes out in June and I can’t wait!

 

I read some big best-seller titles like the Fifty Shades and Dragon TattoobBooks. Usually I find them “meh,” but fast and entertaining. I read some books by lady authors – essays, memoirs – and tried to pin down the secrets to their success: Nora Ephron, Tina Fey, Sloan Crosley (whom I really didn’t like, but I still don’t quite understand why.) I read a novel called A Short History of Women by Kate Walbert that I got bored with in 2011. Upon giving it a second chance I would put it in my top 15 books of 2012. Funny how you just have to be in the right frame of mind sometimes. It’s a very zen thing, bringing the right book into your life at the right moment to appreciate it.

 

There were certainly some disappointments. I read Swamplandia! by Karen Russell because it was nominated for a Pulitzer last year. I really did not like it – have any of you read it and enjoyed it? I didn’t like the structure or care about the characters. I read Americana by Don DeLillo, who is one of my favorites, but man did I NOT enjoy this one. There’s a weird feeling of betrayal when you don’t like a book by an author you love. Most of my travel writing books I really enjoyed, which just shows where my head is, though I feel like I didn’t read as many of these as I intended to this year, having been derailed by classwork. I also need to make a more concerted effort to read the classics – I think I only got through one or two this year. I reread the Sally Lockhart mysteries by Philip Pullman, which I remembered having such a strong reaction to as a teenager, and it’s funny, I can still feel exactly that reaction and where it happened, but in a detached way…the painful reality of growing up and losing your ability to get swept up in a bit of romance.  While I’m still not good at completely letting go of finishing a book once I start it, I am better at taking breaks during the crap books so I’m not stalling my reading altogether. This is why I read so few in 2011 – I kept trying to read things I didn’t want to read and then I just wouldn’t read at all.

 

This is a terrible strategy. There are too many books in the world to not always have one engaging you on your nightstand or ready for a commute in your purse. At this very moment, I have 35!!!!! purchased, unread books on my Kindle and bookshelf. 35! And I am stuck in that bad place where I “have to” read things again, between school and my part time writing gig. I’m trying to sneak in books I’m excited about between those assigned just to remember what a joyful intelligent form of escapism reading can be.  When I am deeply involved in a book, it’s all I can do to force myself to do anything besides read it.

 

Sometimes it keeps me awake at night worrying about how I will ever read everything I want to read in this lifetime. There are just too many books to be excited about! My goal is to read 75 this year, which seems lofty and unmanageable but I am determined to try. Despite my 35 books ready and waiting, I’m curious about what you read and loved this year. I love adding new books to my ever-growing stack. Excite me, people. I am always ready for a good mindblowing escape.

Categories: Fluff and Philosophical Nonsense | Tags: , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “What’s the Best Book You Read in 2012?

  1. I loved Art of Fielding and 1Q84 this year. Congrats on finishing 59 in 2012!

    • Thanks for reading! I read Art of Fielding this year too and really liked it, much more than the person I bought it for did (oops). 1Q84 is on my list – I’m embarrassed to say the only Murakami I have read is “What I Talk About when I Talk About Running” which was great but not his fiction. I see you read “Just Kids” which was my favorite book from 2011. You have a whole bunch I want to read on your list, plus stuff I haven’t heard of that I will have to check out. Thanks!

  2. nadine

    Great job! Just don’t get too lost in your fictional worlds that you forget to take the time to enjoy the real world while you are adventuring abroad. I got immersed in the Dragon Tattoo trilogy, the 50 Shades trilogy and the Hunger Games trilogy, and now I’m stalling for a new good read. I’ll take some of your suggestions and see what my library has. I am still into the smell and feel of a real book and will not succumb to the evil nook or kindle world. I like my Itty Bitty book light for late night readings. I probably should read some old classics, but life is too short to read books you don’t really like. Maybe I’ll like them when I’m older.

    • There is nothing wrong with Kindles!!!! I own a Kindle and still buy just as many tactile books. Kindles are insanely useful for traveling, or for books that are the size and weight of a brick that are too hard to carry for a daily commute. Don’t be down on Kindles. You can have a foot in each world and it does not diminish your experience or status as a reader. If you haven’t read Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, you might like that (if you like P&P by itself), it’s pretty amusing, plus it’s just Jane Austen so you know you’re in for a good read. I think I already recommended Austenland to you. I know you’ve read all the Sedaris – You might try David Rakoff, who is one of my faves, kind of like Sedaris, also a This American Life contributor, very funny guy. Essays, you know, so not too taxing. Half-Empty and Don’t Get too Comfortable are the two I’ve read, Fraud is another collection by him that I have on my shelf to get to when I have time to read fun books. Let me know if you stumble across anything good…what will be the next great trilogy (you should really read Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood, it’s GOING to be the next big trilogy. It’s Little Women crossed with The Crucible. Trust me, it’s great.)

  3. Michael

    Best book I read this year (and one of the best I’ve ever read) was ‘The Tender Land’ by Kathleen Finneran. It’s one of Adam’s favorites, and he recommended it to me. I think you’d love it. Actually read it shortly after you visited me…:)

    x

    • You always give me good advice for books, so this will probably get fast tracked to the top of my list…and by fast tracked I mean at least March, when I’m done with classes and enforced reading. x

  4. loved the post, I’m a huge DFW fan and it makes me happy to see him recognised, cheers.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

