The Blog 2.0: New Format, Now with more Britain

Once again John Lennon has me pegged. Life’s what happens while you’re busy making other plans.

I didn’t mean to take a six month break from my blog. I just got involved in…stuff.

Right now I’d like to use the metaphor of being a caterpillar in a cocoon waiting to emerge as a beautiful butterfly.

But I hate butterflies. Seriously.

However, I do feel like I’ve been in a cocoon: reading and thinking and reformulating and agonizing and analyzing and reading some more. I applied to grad school mostly on a whim to move to London and ended up realizing how deeply in love I am with the non-fiction genre. I’ve been reading everything I can get my hands on, learning and thinking again.

And now I’m ready to write. New adventures are afoot.

I’m in London. For as many times as I imagined it, for as fidgety as my soul was, I never really thought I’d do it.

But here I am. And I am inspired.

I figured after such a long break I might as well pep things up, and thus the new layout and title. While “A Perfectly Glorious Hot Mess” was self-deprecating in an “I’m cheekily embracing my imperfections” kind of way, it suddenly occurred to me I just didn’t feel like projecting that image into the world anymore. I’m not a hot mess, cutesy or otherwise. I’m a lady with ambitions and passions and mad cases of the giggles. Time to embrace THAT.

So Wanderlust and Cupcakes. Because I love to travel. I’m restless, itchy, I need to go and see and seek and open myself to newness, particularly because a lot of the time I hate newness. The world is too big, it makes me anxious and giddy.

And cupcakes. Because I love cupcakes. But this blog won’t be a record documenting my attempts to find the best cupcake in London (though if I find good ones, you’ll be the first to know. Cupcakes seem scarcer in Europe than America, and that is a weighty issue that will require a whole blog of its own at some point.)

No, I mean existential cupcakes. Whatever it is that drives you, that makes you ecstatic, that makes your intensely personal and unique clock tick, bell ring, heart swoon.

A cupcake can definitely do that.  But so can so many other things, and I’m out to find all of mine.

(And before the PhDs among you jump down my throat, I suppose I mean metaphorical cupcakes rather than existential. But I imagine if the existentialists had had cupcakes they wouldn’t have been so gloomy.)

So watch this space. I have about six months of blogs leaking out my ears, begging to be written. London lays at my feet for observing and experiencing.  I already have trips planned to Amsterdam and Manchester. I already have an idea for a book.

So go find and eat your cupcakes and come back and read this and we’ll compare notes. There is so much to talk about.

Categories: Fluff and Philosophical Nonsense | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “The Blog 2.0: New Format, Now with more Britain

  1. Maayan

    A pleasure, as always, to read!! I was experiencing a bit of existential melancholy myself this morning as the sun has hidden itself, and this blog of yours – in itself, a cupcake – has put a smile on my face. Keep writing! I shall keep reading. 🙂

    • mschadl

      Thank you for being my first official (re)reader! Leave it to you to give me a cupcake right back. 🙂 And trust me there is a lot lot lot more coming soon.

  2. nadine

    🙂

  3. Cassie Apthorpe

    I so excited for you! Can’t wait to read about your adventures.

  4. Danielle Meyer

    So glad you are writing (for everyone to read) again. I’ll be one of the first to buy your book, so get working on it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

